My Cranfield Journey

Here is my journey through my unforgettable experience in Cranfield University. Choosing MSc in Aerospace vehicle Design program was a meticulously calculated decision, driven by my desire to sharpen my skills and immerse myself in hands-on learning. Surprisingly, when I finally set foot on campus, there was little excitement – perhaps because my extensive research made it feel like I had been there before. Was it the right approach? Maybe or maybe not but one thing was certain: my career hinged on this choice.

Cranfield’s location near the quaint Cranfield village may not offer the bustling social scene some expect from a UK university. But if you’re focused on education, Cranfield is the place to be. (If your selection parameter for university is social life, then you might want to reconsider). The Cranfield Student Association (CSA) ensures there’s never a dull moment, with lively weekend events and themed parties throughout the year. Plus, the university’s excellent bus connections to Bedford and Milton Keynes mean you’re never far from the action. These places are one-stop for all your needs in case you don’t find anything on campus.

One of the highlights of Cranfield is its exclusive focus on master’s degrees, attracting purpose-driven students passionate about their programs. One of the primary reasons for me selecting Cranfield. And let’s not forget the campus’s very own airport, offering unparalleled opportunities for hands-on learning in flight courses which is part of the National Flying Laboratory Centre. The seamless integration between Modules and real-time flying experience was a major plus. Helped me to understand and experience different flight modes.

My time at Cranfield was enriched by a diverse cohort, fostering friendships that transcended borders and cultures. This was such a surreal experience and something I will always cherish. While the initial months were challenging, can be the same for a few. Some might struggle with homesickness, acclimatizing, or face a language barrier. I have been away for quite a few years so I did not experience it much secondly, I would give credit to my course for not providing enough time to feel homesick.

My time at Cranfield was enriched by a diverse cohort, fostering friendships that transcended borders and cultures. This was such a surreal experience and something I will always cherish. While the initial months were challenging, can be the same for a few. Some might struggle with homesickness, acclimatizing, or face a language barrier. I have been away for quite a few years so I did not experience it much secondly, I would give credit to my course for not providing enough time to feel homesick.

On the practical side, I’ll admit I had a bit of a learning curve when it came to cooking. (I researched well at my University but missed bout cooking). Instant noodles became my best friend, but I eventually learned to balance culinary adventures with my academic pursuits. If you are wondering if you would be cooking a full meal every day to save money, I feel unlikely but well each individual is different so plan accordingly.

I remember spending more time at my favorite spot, Kings Norton Library, The most famous and most visited place on campus. Most of us would spend the most hours there than we would in our rooms. I plan to discuss the accommodations in detail in a future blog. Cranfield Village, Bedford, and Milton Keynes are usually the go-to options for students looking for off-campus accommodation. Personally, I would recommend you plan your application early to grab a spot on campus. You will thank me later. You can visit the university website for more details on accommodation.

I am not a sports enthusiast and well, yes again my course was demanding. Having said that the state-of-the-art sports facilities and hobby clubs were fantastic ways to keep yourself occupied post working hours or on weekend. I was working part-time as a Student Ambassador on campus which helped afloat financially. There were many other part-time opportunities on and off campus.

As my journey at Cranfield came to an end, I was thrilled to receive a job offer in the UK, thanks in part to the university’s excellent placement support. Overall, Cranfield not only shaped me professionally but also personally, bringing me one step closer to my dream of working in the aerospace industry.

I intend to have a more detailed series. Let me know if you would like to know anything in particular. Stay tuned for more insights into my Cranfield experience in future posts. Have questions? I’m here to help!

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started